Uncomun is a community of artists that began as a monthly event at Galapagos Art Space in Williamsburg Brooklyn. The original events ran consecutively between 2004 and 2006. The original series was created by Nevaris A.C., Alejandro Crawford, Nate Taylor, Sita Frederick, and Marin Horikawa. The event was brought back by Nevaris, Sita Frederick, and Leticia Peguero as a bi-annual festival in 2008 with a performance at Public Assembly that featured Bernie Worrell as a special guest. In 2010 Nevaris collaborated with Bill Laswell to present Uncomun as a full evening event that served as the album release and label launch for Bill Laswell’s Method of Defiance project. In 2012 Nevaris and Maya Azucena brought Uncomun back as a monthly event at Drom on the lower east side. The events featured a different lineup every month most notably featuring Bernie Worrell, Pharoah Monche, and Jarobi (Tribe Called Quest). Uncomun currently exists as a loosely organized community of artists who keep the Uncomun spirit alive.

The following artists have all been a part of Uncomun.

Nevaris + Maya Azucena + Loud Apartment + Method of Defiance + Bill Laswell + Bernie Worrell + Toshinori Kondo + DJ Krush + DJ DXT + Pharoah Monche + Areytos Performance Works + Jarobi + Imany Mladjao + Faye Simpson + Alejandro Crawford + Nate Taylor + Marin Horikawa + Leticia Peguerro + Noemi Segarra + Shelby Johnson + Owour Arunga + Baba Israel + Garrison Hawk + Dr. Israel + Angel Rodriguez + La Timba De Ayer + Abrazos Orchestra + DJ Black Panther + Street Beat Society + Areytos Performance Works + Full Circle Productions + Full Stealth Films + VJ Full Stealth + Rokafella + Kwikstep + The Struggle Squad + DJ Speedrail + Deetron + Jerome Derradji + Eli Efi + Rustem Khoejmemedov + World Invasion + Sean Schulich + Sampsonic + Myles Bigelow + Khalid Hill + Faye Simpson + Mangu Dance Collaborative + Brandon Terzic + Desmar Guevara + Emilio Valdez + Alkebulan + Amir Parsa + Jose Ortiz + Psuedo Slang + Prompt Strong + California King + Duane Harriot + Prez Powerz + Prompt Strong+ Jellyroll Fats & The Zulu Kings + Lance Paladino + Stefen Reed + Earl Fyfe + Shervone Neckles + Mr. Complex + DJ Center + Max Pollack +INI All Stars + DJ Center +